I don’t know if I have mentioned this before on my blog, but I was super happy when I was informed about being selected to be an Althea Angel, so I’m now part of an amazing beauty ambassador community 🙂 About 3 months ago, Althea kindly sent over these amazing products from their in-house brand, and after using them for some time, I’m now ready to give a review ~


Product Description

The hustle and bustle of the urban life mean non-stop hectic schedules, but that doesn’t mean you can’t give your skin the lovin’ it needs! Althea’s Real Fresh Skin Detoxer is a 10-second, 2-in-1 cleanser pack that showcases real, fresh ingredients and incorporates them into a system that allows a deep, clarifying cleanse while boosting the skin with nutrients and goodness. You’ll get both editions in this set: Rose (made with French rose petals + extract to refine the skin) and Green Tea (contains Jeju green tea leaves + extracts to purify). This product leaves the skin feeling fresh and looking smooth for a healthy, happy complexion!

Official Retail Price in Singapore: SGD 25

Image credits


Ingredient List

Rose

Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate, Acrylates Copolymer, Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Pteris Multifida Extract, Cynara Scolymus (Artichoke) Leaf Extract, Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract, Amaranthus Caudatus Seed Extract, Rosa Centifolia Flower Water, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Rosa Gallica Flower Powder, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Polyquaternium-51, Beta-Glucan, Betaine, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol

Green Tea

Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate, Acrylates Copolymer, Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Piper Methysticum Leaf/Root/Stem Extract, Melia Azadirachta Leaf Extract, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, Melia Azadirachta Flower Extract, Coccinia Indica Fruit Extract, Solanum Melongena (Eggplant) Fruit Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Pteris Multifida Extract, Cynara Scolymus (Artichoke) Leaf Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Flower Extract, Ocimum Sanctum Leaf Extract, Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract, Amaranthus Caudatus Seed Extract, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Corallina Officinalis Extract, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Powder, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Polyquaternium-51, Beta-Glucan, Betaine, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol

Butylene Glycol is actually a human irritant and can be bad for people with extremely sensitive skin, so do take note!


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Packaging: I like this squeeze tub packaging better than a tub that I have to scoop out of, because it’s definitely a lot more convenient and hygienic. It’s also very easy to squeeze an appropriate amount on my fingers. I can see that it’ll potentially be very good to bring in your luggage when you’re travelling, although it’s always good to have a smaller, travel-sized version (Althea, please? :D)

Texture: My first thought when I tried this was that it’s a little gooey, and has a gel-like consistency. It’s a bit different from the cleansers I normally use, but it didn’t feel uncomfortably thick or anything. In fact, you won’t really feel like your face is getting clogged or anything, partly due to the fact that you only need to leave this on your face for 10 seconds!

Effectiveness: If I had to pick favourites, I would probably choose the Green Tea version. According to the description, the Rose one is supposed to refine your skin (read: exfoliate?), and the Green Tea one to soothe and nourish. I personally prefer using products that are gentler on the skin, because my skin is as sensitive as I am  and using anything too harsh will cause my skin to go into redness overdrive. I definitely do agree that using the Rose one has caused my skin to feel a little tight and dry sometimes, but the Green Tea one has always left my face feeling refreshed, which I really like

I don’t think the effects are super ‘wow’, but they definitely do good stuff for your skin.


Final Verdict

At SGD 25, I think it’s a little pricey for a cleanser, but I can see why they priced it so when you see how many great ingredients they formulated this with.

If you have sensitive skin, I definitely recommend that you try using the Green Tea Detoxer first (though I have to admit that I love the Rose one because it’s so pretty haha).


Rating

Ease of use: ✮✮✮✮✮
Effectiveness: ✮✮✮
Value for money: ✮✮✮

One thought on “[REVIEW] Althea Real Fresh Skin Detoxer

Leave a comment